14 May 2010

Featuring . . . Where's My Wand? by Eric Poole

This Friday and every Friday for the next couple of months, I will be featuring a book that was published under the Amy Einhorn Books imprint. I am starting with the 2009 books and will spotlight them in alphabetical order by year.

This week I'm featuring Eric Poole's Where's My Wand?, a memoir with the telling subtitle of One Boy's Magical Triumph over Alienation and Shag Carpeting. The release date for the book is just days away--May 27.

The publisher introduces us to Poole by putting him in the same room with Augusten Burroughs, David Sedaris, and David Rakoff. Sounds promising, doesn't it? Here is the book summary:

Set in the Midwest of the 1970's, this memoir evokes that idyllic, old-school time before computers and cell phones, when people were horrible to one another face-to-face.

From an early age, Eric Poole was obsessed with Endora of TV's Bewitched. Just days after arriving at the family's new home in St. Louis, Missouri, eight-year-old Eric had staked out the basement as his special place: a spot where he could secretly perform magical incantations--draped in a tattered white bedspread he prayed his obsessive-compulsive mother wouldn't miss--as an antidote to his alienation.

This is a book for fans of Augusten Burroughs and TV's Malcolm in the Middle. Eric Poole's stories take readers on a hilarious and sometimes heartbreaking journey in which the magic in his life slowly morphs from childhood wonder to religious dogma to an understanding that the real, true magic is believing in yourself.
I've always had a soft spot for books that are set in my home territory. Although I didn't grow up in Missouri, I was raised in the Midwest, and I know how Midwesterners can be.

After I read the Kirkus review, I added this book to my must-read list: "The real charm of the book lies in the authenticity of the humor. There is not one forced moment in the book, nor is there a stitch of disingenuous manipulation to get a cheap laugh or manufacture a setup to a joke."

I also love Poole's biography (from Amazon): "Eric Poole is the secret love child of Fran Lebowitz and David Sedaris. But oddly taller. . . . Eric was once called "the best undiscovered writer I've ever met" by Tracey Ullman, an accolade he continues to live up to."

This book was featured as part of the Amy Einhorn Books Reading Challenge (click to join the fun). For information about the imprint, please read Amy Einhorn's open letter posted here on January 25, 2010.

Where's My Wand? at Powell's
These links lead to affiliate programs.

Published by Putnam/Amy Einhorn, May 27, 2010
ISBN-13: 9780399156557


Diane 5/14/10, 6:24 AM  

I think this sounds like something I'd like a lot. I just saw this on amazon and added it to my wishblist!

Julie P. 5/14/10, 7:17 AM  

This sounds hilarious!

bermudaonion 5/14/10, 10:00 AM  

Oh my gosh, I want that book! I love memoirs and the authors you mentioned. This book sounds so good!

Sandy Nawrot 5/14/10, 1:01 PM  

I've sort of been on a memoir kick this year. It can be so much more interesting than anything made up. I think I need this one. I need them all actually.

Lenore 5/14/10, 1:49 PM  

I have a friend who adores memoirs and is always trying to get me to read more of them! This sounds like a fun one to try.

Margot at Joyfully Retired 5/14/10, 7:22 PM  

This one's on my list for sure. I'm with Sandy - memoirs are usually so good because you know they are real.

Jenners 5/14/10, 8:09 PM  

If the title didn't hook me (and it did), the comparisons did!!! I'm a sucker for amusing memoirs!

Meghan 5/15/10, 4:47 AM  

Never heard of this one before but it looks great! Definitely on my wishlist now. Memoirs aren't my favorite genre but I definitely enjoy the good ones.

Vasilly 5/15/10, 9:02 PM  

I have this on my TBR list already. I can't wait to read it! It sounds so interesting!

Lynne 6/9/10, 4:02 PM  

I just bought this book earlier today and just found out Eric Poole is coming to St. Louis for a book signing tomorrow! Coincidence? I think NOT. I am soooo going.

Anita 7/1/10, 4:09 PM  

I just finished Eric's book yesterday, we actually went to HS together. Small world, and thanks to fb I was alerted to it and enjoyed it so much. A review on my blog is coming soon.
Happy to have found your blog.

Thanks for stopping by. I read all comments and may respond here, via e-mail, or on your blog. I visit everyone who comments, but not necessarily right away.

I cannot turn off word verification, but if you are logged into Blogger you can ignore the captcha. I have set posts older than 14 days to be on moderation. I can no longer accept anonymous comments. I'm so sorry if this means you have to register or if you have trouble commenting.


All content and photos (except where noted) copyright © cbl for Beth Fish Reads 2008-2016. All rights reserved.



To The Blogger Guide, Blogger Buster, Tips Blogger, Our Blogger Templates, BlogU, and Exploding Boy for the code for customizing my blog. To Old Book Illustrations for my ID photo. To SEO for meta-tag analysis. To Blogger Widgets for the avatars in my comments and sidebar gadgets. To Review of the Web for more gadgets. To SuziQ from Whimpulsive for help with my comments section. To Cool Tricks N Tips for my Google +1 button.

Quick Linker



  © Blogger template Coozie by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP